Le Pescatore – Trou aux Biches – Mauritius Visit Review: 12,6

What the cost!

How to leave a restaurant having eaten well but with a bitter taste in the mouth? Just go to Le Pescatore at Trou aux Biches in Mauritius.    Very nice elegant and cosy ambiance, well decorated.    Similarly, the menu is physically qualitative. There was a significant expense in a good printer.    The bread is very good. The [...]
Le Pescatore Gueule pavée brèdes

La vieille rouge – Grand Baie – Mauritius Visit Review: 13,2

Beau plateau

I will take the risk of getting angry with 99% of the restaurants in Mauritius but we will discuss the subject of lobster, fresh and local. You must know that you will very rarely get fresh and that it can often not be Mauritian. This concerns all restaurants in Mauritius, not specifically "La vieille rouge". Only the restaurants of luxury hotels, for reasons of price and supply chain, [...]
La vieille rouge Plateau de la mer

Le Bénitier – Pereybere – Mauritius Visit Review: 12

Sympathetic but not more

I think I have almost ate in all the main restaurants of Pereybere! Le Bénitier is facing the beach and is part of the classic range of small local restaurants.     Nothing very original or exceptional on the menu. But honest and correct food.    The best part is probably the chicken accras, very well cooked, with a donut dough [...]
Le Bénitier Crevettes créoles

Mamma Mia – Grand Baie – Mauritius Visit Review: 11,6

Light Please!

If I listened to my friend Paul-Emmanuel, I would put a 20/20 and write a dithyrambic article on Mamma Mia, one of his Mauritian canteens. But as my best half sometimes says, I'm not always someone cool ...Do not expect a shootdown flame because we eat pretty well in this Italian restaurant in Grand BaIE. It has the first benefit of having existed for years. This proves that the [...]
Mamma Mia Antipasti

Emirates Visit Review:

Treat yourself!

Flying in Business Class on Emirates is a bit nostalgic of what the airlines companies were in their glory days, when they spent money, when nothing was too much to satisfy the customer. This company makes you forget this hesitation that you had when you validated the upgrade, this moment when you said to yourself: "It is true that we must have fun in life but is it really [...]
Emirates Plateau Entrées

Abbeyglen Castle Hotel – Clifden – Eire Visit Review:

Red neck +

Strange hotel whose distant appearance kindly deceives when you are near. But up close, the concrete walls to over-lineage to believe that it is stone, the tacky decoration, the customers "red neck +" immediately get your head straight. Do not be fooled by the website that flings "luxury" at every corner and displays photos of excellent [...]
Abbeyglen Hotel Chambre

Byrnes – Ennistymon – Eire Visit Review: 12,6

Motley !

Establishment with strange decoration since the facade is extremely colorful, the entrance is quite chic, with some stools and a nice bar, then the intermediate room, absolutely not lit, and the third room which gives on a beautiful terrace with a view on the famous waterfalls of Ennistymon. But this room has filthy chairs and plastic tablecloths that compete with [...]
Byrne's Façade 3

Off the square – Clifden – Eire Visit Review: 14

Show off the square!

Last stop of our stay in Clifden and probably the best value for money with the pleasure of tasting a lobster straight out of the fishpond and some Irish oysters! More fleshy than the delicate French tables. Even appearing a little heretic, I will admit that I like. I have a soft spot for Utah Beach or Horse's Feet (very big french oysters). It is not necessarily  "gastronomy" but it [...]
Off The Square Homard

Hiney’s – Crossmolina – Eire Visit Review: 8,2

A culinary abyss

Is there an abyss of Irish cuisine? If so, it is probably located in Crossmolina where the Hiney's includes what is worse in the accomplished amateurism.    And yet what's more charming than a small Irish pub with some alcoholic old men idle in the middle of the day, an aquarium hanging at 2 meters, an invalid anesthetizing his pain with [...]
Hiney's Aquarium

Mitchell’s Restaurant – Clifden – Eire Visit Review: 12

Basic mistakes

Clifden is a chic seaside town that alternates elegant restaurants and pubs. Mitchell's is in the first category. But the selection of dishes that we could eat obliges the gastronomical chronicler to a great objectivity because one oscillates between good products and big mistakes.    The setting is quite elegant with especially a well decorated first floor room. [...]
Mitchell's Restaurant Huîtres chaudes

Spices Sands Resort – Flic en Flac – Maurice Note:

Contrairement à mes habitudes, je ne note pas ce restaurant car il faut parfois s'adapter aux situations particulières. En effet, Guillaume Brégeat, le nouveau chef est arrivé depuis cinq mois seulement aux commandes des restaurants du Sands Resort et il n'a pas encore eu le temps de remodeler la carte. Vous allez me dire que cinq mois c'est tout de même pas mal. Mais la situation [...]
Spices Sands Resort Risotto

Le Pescatore – Trou aux Biches – Maurice Note: 12,6

Bon mais bonbon !

Comment sortir d'un restaurant en ayant bien mangé mais avec un goût amer dans la bouche ? Il suffit d'aller au Pescatore à Trou aux Biches à l'île Maurice.Très belle salle élégante et chaude, bien décorée.De même, la carte est physiquement qualitative. On sent une dépense non négligeable chez un bon imprimeur.Le pain est très bon. L'assiette de [...]
Le Pescatore Gueule pavée brèdes

La vieille rouge – Grand Baie – Maurice Note: 13,2

Beau plateau

Je vais prendre le risque de me fâcher avec 99% des restaurateurs de l'île Maurice mais on va aborder le sujet de la langouste, fraiche et locale. Il faut savoir que vous en aurez très rarement de la fraiche et qu'elle peut même souvent ne pas être mauricienne. Cela concerne tous les restaurants de Maurice, pas spécifiquement "La vieille rouge". Seuls les restaurants des grands [...]
La vieille rouge Plateau de la mer

Le bénitier – Pereybere – Maurice Note: 12

Je crois avoir presque fait le tour des principaux restaurants de Pereybere ! Le bénitier est face à la plage et entre dans la gamme classique des petits restaurants locaux.  Rien de bien original ni exceptionnel dans la carte. mais une nourriture honnête et correcte.Le meilleur élément est sans doute les accras de poulet, très bien cuits, avec une [...]
Le Bénitier Crevettes créoles

Mamma Mia – Grand Baie – Maurice Note: 11,6

De la lumière SVP !

Si j'écoutais mon ami Paul-Emmanuel, je mettrais un 20/20 et pondrais un article dithyrambique sur Mamma Mia, l'une de ses cantines mauriciennes. Mais comme le dit ma moitié, je suis parfois quelqu'un de pas agréable...  Ne vous attendez cependant pas à une descente en flamme puisqu'on mange assez bien dans ce restaurant italien de Grand Baie. Il a le premier avantage [...]
Mamma Mia Antipasti

Emirates Note:

Faites-vous plaisir !

Voler en Business Class sur Emirates, c'est un peu avoir la nostalgie de ce que furent les compagnies aériennes dans leurs heures de gloire, où l'on dépensait sans compter, où rien n'était de trop pour satisfaire le client. Cette compagnie vous fait oublier cette hésitation que vous avez eu lorsque vous avez validé le surclassement, ce moment où vous vous êtes dit : "C'est [...]
Emirates Plateau Entrées

Abbeyglen Castle Hotel – Clifden – Irlande Note:

Ploucs +

Etrange hôtel dont l'apparence lointaine trompe gentiment son monde. Mais de près, les murs de béton aux sur-lignages pour faire croire que c'est de la pierre, la décoration d'assez mauvais goût, la clientèle "ploucs +" remettent tout de suite les avis d'équerre. Il ne faut pas se laisser aguicher par le site internet qui balance du "luxury" à chaque coin de phrase et affiche [...]
Abbeyglen Hotel Chambre

Byrnes – Ennistymon – Irlande Note: 12,6

Bariolé !

Etablissement à la décoration étrange puisque la façade est extrêmement colorée, l'entrée est assez chic, avec quelques tabourets et un beau bar, puis la salle intermédiaire, absolument pas éclairée, et la troisième salle qui donne sur une belle terrasse avec vue sur les fameuses chutes d'eau d'Ennistymon. Mais cette salle est dotée de chaises immondes et de nappes en [...]
Byrne's Façade 3

Off the square – Clifden – Irlande Note: 14

Show off the square!

Dernière étape de notre séjour à Clifden et probablement le meilleur rapport qualité/prix avec le plaisir de déguster un homard sorti tout droit du vivier  et quelques huîtres irlandaises ! Plus charnues que les délicates des tables françaises. Quitte à paraître un peu hérétique, je vais avouer que j'aime bien. J'ai un faible pour les Utah Beach ou les pieds de cheval. On [...]
Off The Square Homard

Hiney’s – Crossmolina – Irlande Note: 8,2

Un gouffre culinaire

Y a-t-il un gouffre de la cuisine irlandaise ? Si oui, il se situe probablement à Crossmolina où le Hiney's regroupe probablement ce qui se fait de pire dans l'amateurisme abouti.    Et pourtant quoi de plus charmant qu'un petit pub irlandais avec quelques vieillards alcooliques désoeuvrés en plein milieu de journée, un aquarium pendu à 2 mètres, un invalide [...]
Hiney's Aquarium