Amateur of good food, with a Baccalaureate degree in Literature-Philosophy at 19 and a CAP Cooking / Ferrandi at 51,

I propose you my appreciations about the restaurants and hotels I have visited during my travels from Paris to Prague, Denver to Deauville or New-York to New-Delhi.

Neither permanent dithyrambs, nor pseudo-poetic lyrical surge, nor unfair squaring only to make the buzz, but  fine  words mixed with technical analysis. As we are in a Global Village, the blog is of course  bilingual.

For simplicity, 3 categories :
-« Gold » : best tables (but who’s counting?)
-« Red » : nice intermediate tables (between 40 and 80 euros)
-« Blue » : unsophisticated restaurants but with quality food (less than 40 euros)

You will find more details about notes in “About us

One unique advice? Avoid a blog which is not giving a date of visit in its article.

Joséphine Chez Dumonet -Paris – France Visit Review: 16,2

Retour aux sources

Retour aux sourcesBack to the roots after a long holidays! With the winter approaching, it was necessary to revise my bases, the sauce knowledges, the foie gras and stuffed morels. Is there a better place than the restaurant in which I've done my graduation? It is therefore light (and stomach!) hearted that I brought one of my oldest friends.Joséphine Chez Dumonet Maître [...]
Joséphine Chez Dumonet Morilles farcies 2

Taokan – Paris – France Visit Review: 11,8

Restaurant that we know immediately that a good part of the bill is made to pay more the decor than the plate. Not that it is bad but it is at the level of the claim.   The starters are of course more worked than at your Chinese caterer around the  street corner. You will not find this side slightly elastic for vapors and stickier than crisp for fried spring [...]
Taokan Saint-Jacques

Le Bretzel – Paris – France Visit Review: 15,4

Rare à Paris

Except the big "brasseries" known by everybody, the small Alsatian restaurants are one of the rarities in Paris. It is true that we, the Alsatians, have never been able to ensure our promotion as Bretons or Aveyronnais. And with a minimalist website, a facade hidden in a small street of the fourteenth arrondissement, in the shadow of La Creole, you have to know to go [...]
Au Bretzel Petite alsacienne

La Bascule – Vincennes -France Visit Review: 15

Une bascule qui balance

As I am trying at all the restaurants of Vincennes, La Bascule is one of beautiful steps tested this day.   The menus for lunch at 20 or 26 euros make very accessible dishes very well made and without staying hungry.  The chicken "pressé" with foie gras is very good, accompanied by a chocolate sauce and a truffle ice cream that [...]
La Bascule Pressé de volaille et foie gras

L’Estrapade – 75005 Paris Visit Review: 10,6

One more dead !

There is nothing more disappointing than a restaurateur who sells his stock in trade to someone who can not follow the quality. Exactly what happened six months ago at the Estrapade, ex-pretty table of the 5th arrondissement.    However, we could still have hope with one of the house specialties, the Roquefort pear and chorizo, which go the [...]
L'Estrapade Poire au roquefort

Le Lutetia Bar Joséphine – Paris -France Visit Review:

Although it is still a bit under renovation, the hotel Lutetia finally opened its doors a few months ago and now animates the neighborhood in a less noisy way.    The Joséphine bar is the attraction of the moment with its superb counter located in a bright room, overlooking the street through large windows and original frescoes rediscovered during the [...]
Lutetia Bar Joséphine Cocktails 2

Le Comptoir du Relais – Paris – France Visit Review: 14,6

Expansive butter !

Why did I wait so much time testing Le Comptoir du Relais? Because I never queued! And at each of my passages in front of the establishment, the queue was for me crippling. Especially since the clients are often ruthlessly parceled and are regularly overtaken by the privileged guests of the neighboring hotel, property of the restaurant. For a place that refuses reservations to vulgum [...]
Le Comptoir du Relais Carpaccio Tête de veau

Dar Cherifa – Marrakech – Morocco Visit Review: 12

Pale Dar

What makes two restaurants with a very similar appearance cause two very different feelings, in addition to cooking? This is what I will try to answer with Dar Cherifa, very close to all levels of Ksar Essaoussan. Except that the Dar Cherifa has a look a little too new (even if it is an ancient building), too licked closer to the movie setting set than the authentic [...]
Dar Cherifa Patio 2

Palais Mehdi Restaurant – Marrakech – Morocco Visit Review:

Small article but I wanted to note the quality of couscous lamb eaten in the restaurant of Palais Mehdi.    He deserves it simply because of the beautiful combination of spices used for cooking. Obviously, it's still a little the same thing, Ras El Hanout, with for each cook his personal recipe. But here, in addition to the candied onion on the top, I found an [...]
Palais Mehdi Restaurant Assortiment salades

Ksar Essaoussan – Marrakech – Morocco Visit Review: 15,2

A pearl

The main fault lies in its name which, in addition to being difficult to remember, promotes the multiplicity of spellings and causes a difficulty to find it directly on Google.Past this pitfall, we find what is commonly called "a hidden gem". Lost in the middle of the Medina, it is a maze that must be traveled to plunge into the darkness of this authentic [...]
Ksar Essaoussan Oranges
Pages:1234567...31

Amateur de bonne chère, titulaire d’un Baccalauréat Littérature-Philosophie à 19 ans et d’un CAP Cuisine/Ferrandi à 51 ans, je vous propose mes appréciations sur les restaurants et hôtels que j’ai pu visiter au cours de mes pérégrinations de Paris à Prague, de la Bavière à Denver ou de l’île Maurice à Bourg Saint-Maurice.
Ni dithyrambes permanents, ni envolées lyriques pseudo-poétiques, ni équarrissages gratuits pour faire le buzz, mais du beau Verbe mêlé à de l’analyse technique. Comme nous sommes dans un village planétaire, le blog est évidemment bilingue.

Pour faire simple, les filtres vous permettront de choisir entre 3 catégories :

  • « Or » : les grandes tables. (Quand on aime, on ne compte pas…)

  • « Rouge » : belles tables intermédiaires. (entre 40 et 80 euros)

  • « Bleu » : restaurants simples mais à la cuisine de qualité. (- de 40 euros)

Vous trouverez plus de précisions sur le système de notation dans l’onglet « A propos ».

Un unique conseil ? Evitez tout blog qui ne vous indique pas une date de visite dans son article.

Taokan – 75006 Paris Note: 11,8

On paye le décor.

Restaurant dont on sait immédiatement qu'une bonne partie de l'addition est faite pour payer plus le décor que l'assiette. Non pas que celle-ci soit mauvaise mais elle n'est au niveau de la prétention du lieu.     Les entrées sont bien sûr plus travaillées que chez votre traiteur chinois du coin de la rue. Vous n'y retrouverez pas ce coté légèrement [...]
Taokan Saint-Jacques

Le Bretzel – 75014 Paris Note: 15,4

Rare à Paris

Sorti des grandes brasseries connues de tous, les petits restaurants alsaciens sont l'une des raretés parisiennes. Il est vrai que nous, les Alsaciens, n'avons jamais été capables d'assurer notre promotion comme les Bretons ou les Aveyronnais. Et avec un site internet minimaliste, une devanture cachée dans une petite rue du XIVème, dans l'ombre de La Créole, il faut connaître [...]
Au Bretzel Petite alsacienne

La Bascule – 94300 – Vincennes Note: 15

Une bascule qui balance

Etant en train d'écluser tous les restaurants de Vincennes, La Bascule est sans aucun l'une des belles étapes testées à ce jour.     La formule du midi à 20 ou 26 euros rend très accessible des plats très bien confectionnés et sans rester sur sa faim.   Le pressé de volaille au foie gras est très bien réalisé, accompagné et d'une sauce [...]
La Bascule Pressé de volaille et foie gras

L’Estrapade – 75005 Paris Note: 10,6

Encore un de foutu !

Il n'y a rien de plus désespérant qu'un restaurateur qui vend son fond à quelqu'un incapable de suivre. Exactement ce qu'il vient d'arriver il y a six mois à l'Estrapade, ex-jolie table du 5ème arrondissement.     Pourtant, on pouvait garder espoir avec l'une des spécialités Maison, la poire au roquefort et chorizo, qui tient encore la [...]
L'Estrapade Poire au roquefort

Vinzen – Vincennes – France Note: 11,2

Changement de propriétaire. Tout est dit.

Petit restaurant qui alterne quelques préparations en direct et assiettes de produits industriels mais choisis dans la gamme haute. Il y a eu un changement de propriétaire récemment ce qui explique les différences d'avis sur la cuisine.     Les plats sont globalement bons mais relèvent principalement d'une cuisine d'assemblage comme les ravioles aux [...]
Vinzen Girasoles farcies à la ricotta

Le Lutetia Bar Joséphine – 75006 Paris Note:

Même si il est toujours un peu en travaux, l'hôtel Lutetia a enfin ouvert ses portes il y a quelques mois et anime désormais le quartier de manière moins bruyante.     Le bar Joséphine est l'attraction du moment avec son superbe comptoir installé dans une pièce lumineuse, donnant sur la rue par de larges baies vitrées et aux fresques originales redécouvertes [...]
Lutetia Bar Joséphine Cocktails 2

Le Cléo – 28600 Luisant Note: 14,4

Ecoutez vos amis...ou pas !

Fort heureusement, nous n'avons pas suivi un avis "amical" qui nous disait pis que pendre sur ce restaurant sur le chemin de retour de Chartres. Le cadre est assez classique voire banal mais l'établissement profite d'une sympathique terrasse en arrière de salle. Evidemment, on est sur du travail Maison, sinon je ne serais pas aussi gentil dès les premières lignes. Gentils amuses [...]
Le Cléo Pièce de boeuf

Le Trésor – 75004 – Paris Note: 12,6

Le marais regorge d'adresses alimentaires.     Le Trésor fait partie de celles de confiance, travaillant le produit Maison, orienté vers les spécialités auvergnates, dont l'incontournable aligot. Mais c'était un peu facile, donc j'ai plutôt testé pour vous le croustillant de pied de cochon. En format nems cubiques, le croustillant est parfait sur le moelleux [...]
Le Trésor Croustillants de Pied de cochon

Le Trésor – Paris – France Note: 12,6

The Marais district is full of food addresses.     Le Trésor is one of those trusted, working the Home made products, oriented to Auvergne specialties, including the inevitable aligot. But it was a little easy, so I rather tested for you the crisp pig foot. In cubic rolls (!), the crisp is perfect on the soft pig. The pig's juice served next to it will exhale the [...]
Le Trésor Croustillants de Pied de cochon

Le Comptoir du Relais – 75006 Paris – France Note: 14,6

Au bon beurre !

Pourquoi ai-je mis tant de temps à tester Le Comptoir du Relais ? Parce que je ne fais jamais la queue ! Et à chacun de mes passages devant l'établissement, la file d'attente était pour moi rédhibitoire. D'autant plus que les attentistes sont souvent parqués sans ménagement et se voient régulièrement dépassés par les clients privilégiés de l'hôtel voisin, propriété du [...]
Le Comptoir du Relais Carpaccio Tête de veau
Pages :1234567...34