Bubble Lodge Hôtel – Île aux Cerfs – Mauritius Visit Review:

Seuls au monde !

The Bubble Lodge hotel on Ile aux Cerfs is remarkable in many ways. Obviously, these rooms made of transparent plastic bubbles already present to themselves an originality that is not to be missed.    Of the three bubbles present at Ile aux Cerfs, I could test the most isolated, located in a grove of banyans. You are greeted by a natural arch of wood, the banyan [...]
Bubble Lodge Hotel Trou 11

Beach Rouge Lux Belle Mare – Belle Mare – Mauritius Visit Review: 14,2

Presque très bien

The Lux* group is known a lot in Mauritius for a few years, mainly through a fairly active communication policy, highlighting their three hotels located at three sides of the island.   This is the Belle Mare that I visited, with a main stop in its restaurant Beach Rouge.   The entrance is very classic for this kind of upscale [...]

Le Barachois – Prince Maurice – Mauritius Visit Review:

Total disapointment !

I was very happy to return to the Barachois, amazing restaurant of Prince Maurice, one of the most beautiful hotels in Mauritius. Already last year I had suffered from their ultra-restrictive policy that makes them refuse reservations even when the restaurant is empty. It is a marketing concept of making scarcity that defends itself but is frustrating for those who suffer [...]
Prince Maurice Décor 2

Wang Thaï – Pereybere – Mauritius Visit Review: 14,2

Le Thaï de Pereybere

The skinning of the crab is still a source of conflict worthy of the war between Lilliput and Blefuscu. Should we eat the flesh as we go along or prepare everything and eat all the flesh at the end? I am from the second school.  Probably the best little surprise of our trip to Mauritius, this Thai restaurant is badly placed in Pereybere. It is not in front of the beach, [...]
Wang Thaï Roulades de crevettes

Sands Resort and Spa – Flic en Flac – Mauritius Visit Review:

The Sands Resort is one of the few hotels in Mauritius that still belongs to a local family and not a large international group. That's why we always feel in this establishment a slightly less formatted atmosphere than in many other establishments. The rooms are beautiful and all overlooking a beautiful garden facing the Indian Ocean.  They have a shimmering decoration and [...]
Sands Resort and Spa Vue piscine

Spices Sands Resort – Flic en Flac – Mauritius Visit Review:

Contrary to my habits, I do not rate this restaurant because sometimes it is necessary to adapt to particular situations. Indeed, Guillaume Brégeat, the new chef arrived only five months ago at the management of the restaurants of Sands Resort and he has not yet had the time to remodel the menu. You will tell me that five months is enough. But the situation of hotel in the tropical [...]
Spices Sands Resort Risotto

Le Pescatore – Trou aux Biches – Mauritius Visit Review: 12,6

What the cost!

How to leave a restaurant having eaten well but with a bitter taste in the mouth? Just go to Le Pescatore at Trou aux Biches in Mauritius.    Very nice elegant and cosy ambiance, well decorated.    Similarly, the menu is physically qualitative. There was a significant expense in a good printer.    The bread is very good. The [...]
Le Pescatore Gueule pavée brèdes

La vieille rouge – Grand Baie – Mauritius Visit Review: 13,2

Beau plateau

I will take the risk of getting angry with 99% of the restaurants in Mauritius but we will discuss the subject of lobster, fresh and local. You must know that you will very rarely get fresh and that it can often not be Mauritian. This concerns all restaurants in Mauritius, not specifically "La vieille rouge". Only the restaurants of luxury hotels, for reasons of price and supply chain, [...]
La vieille rouge Plateau de la mer

Le Bénitier – Pereybere – Mauritius Visit Review: 12

I think I have almost ate in all the main restaurants of Pereybere! Le Bénitier is facing the beach and is part of the classic range of small local restaurants.     Nothing very original or exceptional on the menu. But honest and correct food.    The best part is probably the chicken accras, very well cooked, with a donut dough [...]
Le Bénitier Crevettes créoles
Pages:1234567...32

Bubble Lodge Hôtel – Île aux Cerfs – Ile Maurice Note:

Seuls au monde !

L'hôtel du Bubble Lodge de l'île aux Cerfs est remarquable à plus d'un titre. Evidemment, ces chambres faites de bulles en plastique transparentes présentent déjà à elles seules une originalité qui mérite le détour.     Sur les trois bulles présentes à l'île aux Cerfs, j'ai pu tester la plus isolée, situé dans un bosquet de banyans. Vous êtes accueilli [...]
Bubble Lodge Hotel Trou 11

Anahita Resort – Beau Champ – Maurice Note:

L'Anahita Resort est probablement l'un des meilleurs rapport superficie/prix sur l'île Maurice. Il faut dire que ce n'est pas vraiment un hôtel mais un complexe immobilier haut de gamme dont les surfaces sont mises en location quand inoccupées par leurs propriétaires. Il se trouve dans le même enclos que le Four Seasons Gold and Spa. Pour ceux que cela intéresse, l'achat d'une [...]
Anahita Resort Terrasse petit déjeuner

Le Barachois – Prince Maurice – Ile Maurice Note:

Totale déception !

Je me faisais un très grand plaisir de retourner au Barachois, étonnant restaurant du Prince Maurice, l'un des plus beaux hôtels de l'île Maurice. Déjà l'année dernière j'avais souffert de leur politique ultra-restrictive qui leur fait refuser les réservations même quand le restaurant est vide. C'est un concept marketing de fabrication de la rareté qui se défend mais qui est [...]
Prince Maurice Décor 2

Wang Thaï – Pereybere – Ile Maurice Note: 14,2

Le Thaï de Pereybere

Le dépiautage du tourteau est toujours source de conflit digne de la guerre entre Lilliput et Blefuscu. Faut-il manger la chair au fur et à mesure ou tout préparer et manger l'ensemble de la chair à la faim ? Je suis de la deuxième école. C'est grave, Docteur ?   Probablement la meilleure jolie petite surprise de notre voyage à l'île Maurice, ce restaurant [...]
Wang Thaï Roulades de crevettes

The Spoon Be Cosy – Trou aux Biches – Maurice Note: 9,8

Ducasse, c'est Alain, pas Maurice

Rapide étape qui ne  mérite qu'un rapide article. On est plus dans un esprit snack à peine amélioré que de la véritable restauration. Seule la gentille piscine de l'hôtel pourrait vous exciter. Carte assez basique proposant les basiques de la cuisine mauricienne et autres. Rien de bien goûtu si ce n'est peut-être la crème d'ail qui accompagnait les crevettes. Le [...]
The Spoon Palmier piscine

Sands Resort and Spa – Flic en Flac – Ile Maurice Note:

Le Sands Resort fait partie des rares hôtels mauriciens qui appartient encore à une famille locale et non pas un grand groupe international. C'est pour cela qu'on sent toujours dans cet établissement une ambiance un peu moins formatée que dans beaucoup d'autres établissements. Les chambres sont de belles surfaces et donnent toutes sur un très beau jardin face à l'Océan [...]
Sands Resort and Spa Vue piscine

Spices Sands Resort – Flic en Flac – Maurice Note:

Contrairement à mes habitudes, je ne note pas ce restaurant car il faut parfois s'adapter aux situations particulières. En effet, Guillaume Brégeat, le nouveau chef est arrivé depuis cinq mois seulement aux commandes des restaurants du Sands Resort et il n'a pas encore eu le temps de remodeler la carte. Vous allez me dire que cinq mois c'est tout de même pas mal. Mais la situation [...]
Spices Sands Resort Risotto

Le Pescatore – Trou aux Biches – Maurice Note: 12,6

Bon mais bonbon !

Comment sortir d'un restaurant en ayant bien mangé mais avec un goût amer dans la bouche ? Il suffit d'aller au Pescatore à Trou aux Biches à l'île Maurice. Très belle salle élégante et chaude, bien décorée. De même, la carte est physiquement qualitative. On sent une dépense non négligeable chez un bon imprimeur. Le pain est très bon. L'assiette de [...]
Le Pescatore Gueule pavée brèdes

La vieille rouge – Grand Baie – Maurice Note: 13,2

Beau plateau

Je vais prendre le risque de me fâcher avec 99% des restaurateurs de l'île Maurice mais on va aborder le sujet de la langouste, fraiche et locale. Il faut savoir que vous en aurez très rarement de la fraiche et qu'elle peut même souvent ne pas être mauricienne. Cela concerne tous les restaurants de Maurice, pas spécifiquement "La vieille rouge". Seuls les restaurants des grands [...]
La vieille rouge Plateau de la mer
Pages :1234567...34