Belleek Castle – Ballina – Eire Visit Review: 15,8

The castle of drunk beef

The Belleek Castle looks a bit like fairy tales. After crossing a huge fortified gate, you travel several hundred meters in a large wooded park to finally appearing at the corner of a bend, placed on a hill, a castle with gray hues contrasting incredibly with a grass of a green not found.    Crossing the front door, you are immersed in a world [...]
Belleek Castle Façade du château

Nook – Collonney – Eire Visit Review: 11,8

Small establishment not serving alcohol; not even beer! In Ireland !    It is true that it is more a family spirit that gives the owners to the place. If you do not like children, don't go there!  Honest hamburgers. As everywhere, the Irish do not know how to cook french fries. Even if they add with originality herbs to raise the [...]
Nook Jus Berry Love

Ait Eile – Enniscrone – Eire Visit Review: 11

Too many mistakes

First stop of our stay in Ireland and I must recognize that the County of Mayo is not particularly provided in restaurants of high quality. It is therefore without asking me many questions that I select the restaurant No. 1 on TripAdvisor in Enniscrone.    The cocktails are quite rustic, with pieces of broken ice that make the tasting difficult and some small ice [...]
Ait Eile Filet migon de porc

Louis Vins – Paris- France Visit Review: 15,2

Stil "on the road"

Thanks to the excellent application Lastable I decided to push the door of Louis Vins again. Indeed, 30% discount on the solids, I am not going to say no.    My last visit in September 2014 had left me a little unsatisfied. Although the food was good, I really felt the lack of a guideline in the kitchen. We did not know where we were [...]
Louis Vins Poulet fermier, poitrine de cochon et champignons

Le Gabriel La Réserve (i) – Paris – France Visit Review: 16,6

Limestone, show and artichoke!

Why this strange title about a restaurant? Because both chef Jérôme Banctel and director Marco Tognon make us a superb show of what modern French cuisine is but not losing its roots.    But let's begin at the beginning. (Epanadiplose and pleonasm I must calm down!) The appetizers are far from basic with a tart of foie gras and Shitake mashed potatoes, then a thin [...]

Faggio – Paris – France Visit Review: 10,4

It is not this pizzeria that could have ranked in the top 10 of the classification of the best pizzas in France. Not that pizzas are particularly bad, but they suffer from a letting go that makes all the difference between the exceptional and the misfire.    Because we feel that the dough is quite well worked but then there is a poor management of cooking that makes [...]
Faggio Pizza Diavola

Chez Savy – Paris – France Visit Review: 12,4

Quick lunch at the end of "Taste of Paris". Parisian institution that neither disappoints nor provokes ecstasy. Very good rillettes in amuse bouche.  A bib of good Angus and a well-made Bearnaise.  Original sweetbreads served on a strange bed of ziti (long macaroni).  Half carafe of red wine a bit expensive [...]
Savy Bavette béarnaise

Allegria Paris – Paris – France Visit Review: 13,4

Allegro amabile

The Jardin d'Ivy (fortunately!) gave up its place rue Mouffetard to another establishment that I promised myself to test allegretto.   We start with an appoggiature of croutons with olive oil, mozzarella, olives and basil leaves.    And not just a basic oil since the house offers a Frantoia with a superb aroma.   We [...]
Allegria Paris Linguine de la mer

Given – Paris – France Visit Review: 10

Spices are vegan!

As you can imagine, vegetarian restaurants are not my favorite places. But since I'm not sectarian, I have to test everything. Let's go for a working lunch with Laurence Bellissen, the boss of Délices Corner, a promising young catering company. Then, please excuse me in advance, but for the sake of simplicity, I will put in the same bag vegan and vegetarian. This will save me from [...]
Given Salade betterave

Bistro Mauzac – Paris – France Visit Review: 9,2

Cela fait cher la banalité

Writing on an average restaurant is probably the worst test of the gastronomic columnist. Nothing exceptional or really catastrophic to hang on, no memories created for the future, between anonymity and banality, neither for better nor for worse ...  So a sausage and a very commonplace aligot and who did not see much the hand of a craftsman.    A duck [...]
Bistrot Mauzac Saucisse aligot

Mitchell’s Restaurant – Clifden – Irlande Note: 12

Eh dis, Mitchell's, t'abuses !

Clifden est une ville de bord de mer un peu chic qui alterne les restaurants élégants et les pubs. Mitchell's se situe dans la première catégorie. Mais la sélection des plats que nous avons pu manger oblige le chroniqueur gastronomique à une grande objectivité car on oscille entre bons produits et fautes grossières.    Le cadre est assez élégant avec [...]
Mitchell's Restaurant Huîtres chaudes

Belleek Castle – Ballina – Irlande Note: 15,8

Le château du boeuf ivre

Le Belleek Castle ressemble un peu aux contes de fées. Après avoir franchi une énorme porte fortifiée, vous parcourez plusieurs centaines de mètres dans un immense parc arboré pour voir enfin apparaître au détour d'un virage, posé sur une colline, un château aux teintes grises contrastant de manière incroyable avec un gazon d'un vert introuvable.Franchissant la [...]
Belleek Castle Façade du château

Nook – Collonney – Irlande Note: 11,8

Petit établissement ne servant pas d'alcool; même pas de bière ! En Irlande !Il est vrai que c'est plus un esprit familial qui anime les propriétaires. Si vous n'aimez pas les enfants, mieux vaut ne pas franchir la porte.Hamburgers honnêtes. Comme partout, les Irlandais ne sauvent pas cuire les frites. Même si ils rajoutent avec originalité des herbes pour relever le [...]
Nook Jus Berry Love

Ait Eile – Enniscrone – Irlande Note: 11

Trop d'imperfections

Première étape de notre séjour en Irlande et il faut bien reconnaître que le comté de Sligo n'est pas particulièrement fourni en restaurants un peu élaborés. C'est donc sans me poser beaucoup de questions que je sélectionne le restaurant N°1 sur TripAdvisor à Enniscrone.  Les cocktails sont assez rustiques, avec des morceaux de glaçons brisés qui rendent la [...]
Ait Eile Filet migon de porc

Louis Vins – 75005 Paris Note: 15,2

A nouveau sur les rails.

C'est grâce à l'excellente application Lastable que je me suis décidé à de nouveau pousser la porte de Louis Vins. En effet, 30% de remise sur les solides, cela ne se refuse pas.    Mon dernier passage en septembre 2014 m'avait un peu laissé sur ma faim. Même si la cuisine était de qualité, on sentait vraiment l'absence d'une ligne directrice dans la [...]
Louis Vins Poulet fermier, poitrine de cochon et champignons

Le Gabriel La Réserve (i) – 75008 Paris Note: 16,6

Chaux, chaud, show, artichaut !

Pourquoi donc ce titre aux origines outre-quiévrainoises, au-dela de vous implanter jusqu'à la fin de la journée cette scie musicale de la baronne Cooreman ? Parce que tant le chef Jérôme Banctel que le directeur Marco Tognon nous font un superbe show de ce qu'est la cuisine française moderne mais ne perdant pas ses racines de vue.Mais commençons par le commencement. [...]
Le Gabriel La Réserve Côte de veau assiette

Faggio – 75009 – Paris Note: 10,4

Ce n'est pas cette pizzeria qui aurait pu se classer dans le Top 10 du classement de François-Régis Gaudry. Non pas que  les pizzas soit particulièrement mauvaises, mais elles souffrent d'un laisser-aller qui fait toute la différence entre l'exceptionnel et le raté.Parce qu'on sent bien que la pâte est assez bien travaillée mais ensuite, il y a une mauvaise gestion de la [...]
Faggio Pizza Diavola

Chez Savy – 75008 Paris Note: 12,4

Déjeuner rapide au sortir de Taste of Paris. Institution parisienne qui ne déçoit ni ne provoque l'extase. Très bonnes rillettes en amuse bouche.  Une bavette de bonne bête Angus et une béarnaise bien faite.    Originaux ris d'agneau servis sur un étrange lit de ziti (macaroni longs).    Demi rouge un peu cher à 27 [...]
Savy Bavette béarnaise

Allegria Paris – 75005 Paris Note: 13,4

Allegro amabile

Le Jardin d'Ivy a (heureusement !) cédé sa place rue Mouffetard à un autre établissement que je me suis promis de tester allegretto.  Nous commençons par une appoggiature de croutons à l'huile d'olive, mozzarelle, olives et feuilles de basilic.Et pas n'importe quelle huile puisque la maison propose une Frantoia au goût ardito superbe.On continue [...]
Allegria Paris Linguine de la mer

Given – 75020 Paris Note: 10

Les épices, c'est végan !

Comme vous devez bien vous en doutez, les restaurants végétariens ne sont pas mes établissements préférés. Mais comme je ne suis pas sectaire, il faut tout tester. Allons-y pour un déjeuner de travail avec Laurence Bellissen, la patronne de Délices Corner, jeune société de traiteur prometteuse. Ensuite, veuillez m'excuser d'avance, mais pour des raisons de simplicité, je [...]
Given Salade betterave