Toritcho – Paris – France Visit Review: 13

-

Dining room a little bit old but waiters carefull. In two dinners, I have always been honestly received at the bar or in the dining room.The cooking is really Japanese, not the adaptation for tourists. This is not great food but a quite decent step in the neighborhood of Montparnasse where we see often the worst and rarelly the [...]

Chez René – Paris – France Visit Review: 14

Lost tradition.

Beautiful setting, good service, nice menu. But a detail that kills, the coq au vin. A real coq au vin is necessarily marinated (not three days, I know, there are sanitary standards) in red wine. When you are served one whose inner flesh is completely white ..., it means that the poultry was cooked separately, in a basic way, and that we added nicely a wine sauce (quite thick ) beside. [...]

Les Brigittines (T800) – Bruxelles – Belgium Visit Review: 16

-

It is by chance that I discovered this restaurant while going out to visit the Chapel. I had "felt" the window positively, the same for the menu. And I was not disappointed. It is in front of a chapel at the end of Blaes straat, a street of antiques. Rakish dishes perfectly worked: pig feet, a veal excellent, a coriander tartar quite honest. With a Belgian beer, [...]
Les Brigittines Pièce de bœuf Galicia sauce choron, salade de blé et chicons

La Taverne du Passage – Bruxelles – Belgium Visit Review: 13

-

We had to go ... since it's an institution. No big disappointment, no good surprise.So not much to say. The service is quality and friendly if you know how to be. The shrimp croquettes, the calf's head in turtle are quite honest. A table on the terrace in the gallery is very pleasant and less noisy than I feared. But the website is a disaster. Pages with stil latin filling texts, [...]
La Taverne du Passage Façade

Belga Queen – Ghent – Belgium Visit Review: 12

Good surprise

Not being a fan of fashionable restaurants, trendy design, I went to Belga Queen reluctantly.If the check was what I was expecting (a bit expensive), the quality was, however, at the rendez-vous. Excellent minced Charolais, the same for maatjes and desserts. Pretentious tartar with pinch of useless caviar and vodka cap. But as the view is superb, we forgive the service not very [...]

Aux Armes de Bruxelles – Bruxelles – Belgium Visit Review: 11.8

By lack of choice

Not much to say. A luxury brasserie suitable. Not an imperishable souvenir either in the good or in the bad. But it is true that it is nevertheless a haven of peace in the rue des Bouchers, where none of the restaurants are to save. So you can push the door without fear but without waiting for [...]

Comme chez soi – Bruxelles – Belgium Visit Review: 16.6

Play it again, Sam.

Restaurant that completely deserves its Michelin stars. Products of excellent quality, service at the right level without being pretentious, under the leadership of Laurence Rigolet. A fillet of sole that reconciled me with this fish that I do not appreciate very much. Perfect stir-fried sweetbreads. With a delicious morel sauce. Not really "light", fresh cream "oblige", but I [...]
Comme chez soi Dessert

Polidor – Paris – France Visit Review: 14,2

Two centuries later...

Almost two centuries that this restaurant clings to rue Monsieur le Prince. If Tout-Paris and a number of international celebrities frequent regularly, the menu has never been big headed and always offers simple dishes at low prices. From the indestructible egg mayonnaise to cream of blond lentils with foie gras, celery rémoulade, smoked salmon, we oscillate between 4 and 12 euros for [...]

Aqua café – Suresnes – France Visit Review: 12

With the stream...

Formerly Salon sur l'Eau, the cooking seems to have now evolved into more transapline activities. To try one day to see if it is equal to the old version. In the meantime remains the setting that is always a pleasure.A few minutes from Porte Maillot you have the countryside on the water. Almost a shame to go at night, to enjoy our lymphatic Seine and the contrast of the trees of the [...]

Le Cap Horn – Saint-Malo – France Visit Review: 9.8

-

Despite a very nice room and excellent service, the plate is quite disappointing. Especially a sweetbread whose composition seemed to have been made without a global idea. It's not bad, but leaves no souvenir. Expensive for what it is. The director confirmed that I was the second client in a few days to make the same remarks [...]

Le Clos Note:

Fermé hélas.

Restaurant qui a fermé entre-temps et la conclusion de mon article était prémonitoire : Le moins que l'on puisse dire c'est que le commentaire pour ce restaurant fut difficile à réaliser. Pour le positif, je mettrai au pinacle un foie gras absolument fabuleux, d'une très grande finesse, alors que je ne prends que rarement ce produit en restaurant car je trouve que je le fais [...]
fermé

Chez Christophe Note:

Fermé hélas.

Situé rue de la Montagne Sainte-Geneviève, ce restaurant est malheureusement fermé. Et il est vrai que malgré sa cuisine délicieuse, il avait beaucoup de choses contre lui. La décoration? Affreuse! Une armoire à vin énooooooorme, un éclairage blafard, au mur des toiles "artistiques". Malgré un revêtement de toiles techniques, même à moitié plein, le restaurant était [...]
fermé

Ribouldingue Note:

Fermé hélas.

Restaurant à la carte canaille, travaillant les abats et les tripes. Fermeture très probablement due à une mauvaise analyse quantité/prix. Les produits étaient de qualité mais quand on propose cette typologie, c'est une clientèle bien spécifique qui est concernée. Et si elle accepte de payer pour ces produits hors-normes, elle a aussi besoin d'avoir son assiette tant bien [...]
fermé

Le Fleurvil Note:

Fermé tant mieux.

Restaurant à l'apparence traditionnelle mais dont le travail ne suivait pas. Il a donc fort logiquement fermé. Escargots sans intérêt, poulet de Bresse un peu trop cuit, cuisses de grenouilles banales, présentation minimaliste. Carte des vins sympathiques, service avenant. Ce fut une table sympathique il y a des années mais même si elle n'était pas mauvaise, elle était [...]
fermé

Le Chambord Note:

Fermé hélas.

Pour tout amateur de chasse (ainsi que de crustacés), le Chambord était une belle maison. Même si il faut reconnaître que la salle était dépassée au niveau décor. Donc il fallait se concentrer sur l'assiette que produisait Philippe Lempereur. Sa mère quand elle était encore de ce monde, avait son caractère et tenait fermement sa salle. Mieux valait ne pas la contrarier au [...]
fermé

Le petit Léon Note:

Fermé hélas.

Petite cantine de la rue Mouffetard qui n'a pas tenu le coup. Dommage car c'était des jeunes qui avaient envie d'en découdre. En espérant les retrouver [...]
fermé

Terroir parisien Note:

Fermé hélas.

Malgré tout le respect que j'ai pour Yannick Alleno, (que j'avais beaucoup apprécié dans son aventure Orient Express), il me semblait évident que son Terroir parisien ne ferait pas long feu. Je vous laisse lire l'article ade ce que j'en avais ressenti à l'époque : Les plats sont honnêtes. Les fingers de pieds de cochon (style croquettes de crevettes belges) sont bons mais [...]
fermé

Zen Garden Note:

Fermé hélas.

Excellent restaurant chinois malheureusement fermé aujourd'hui. Il faut bien reconnaître que l'équation commerciale semblait difficile à tenir avec une surface absolument énorme avec probablement un loyer correspondant. C'est dommage car la nourriture y était de qualité, véritablement traditionnelle. Et on trouvait du Mao-Taï en digestif, ce qui est signe d'une maison de [...]
fermé

Le jardin d’Ivy Note:

Fermé tant mieux.

A fermé. Et c'est pas grave! Pour un déjeuner à quatre, cuisine assez banale, sans grand intérêt même si les produits étaient de bonne qualité. Le jardin était l'attrait original de ce restaurant qui méritait un sérieux coup de peinture. Pour faire simple, pas mauvais mais rien de remarquable, une adresse comme il y en avait beaucoup. [...]
fermé

Nippon Tei – 94200 Ivry-sur-Seine Note:

Fermé tant mieux.

Et oui, il arrive que l'on ait envie de déjeuner rapidement avant de faire ses courses au centre commercial Ivry Grand Ciel. Et depuis des années, ce centre est un désastre à tous les niveaux. Les magasins se succèdent en ouverture et fermeture. Les lieux de restauration survivent parfois, comme par erreur. Entre restauration rapide et V.A.E., le Nippon Tei ne fait pas [...]
fermé